Key Lime Squares

I remember when I first discovered key lime pie I knew it would be my favourite pie flavour for life. I started making them all the time using the Betty Crocker recipe and people RAVED about it (except for one time I over zested…big mistake). I decided to make key lime squares, which could definitely be made into a regular pie, I just didn’t have enough crust. These are incredibly luscious, smooth and dense. Just like a real key lime pie! The only sugar in it is dates and a little bit of stevia for the filling. I kid you not, these are so creamy and delicious!

1 cup raw almonds

1 cup unsweetened coconut

6 medjool dates

1 tbsp coconut manna (butter) (You could also sub in coconut oil)

 

2 avocados

2 limes (or 4 key limes)

2/3 cup coconut manna (butter)

1 cup full fat coconut milk

Stevia (to taste)

Sea salt, pinch

To start off you’re going to grind the almonds, coconut, dates and 1 tbsp coconut butter in a food processor for a good 3 minutes until it’s very finely crumbled. Press into a parchment lined baking pan and stick it in the fridge while you make the filling!

For the filling, blend up the avocados, zest and juice of 2 limes (or 4 key limes), slightly melted coconut butter, coconut milk, stevia and a pinch of salt. Pour into pan and spread it out so it’s all even. Let cool in the fridge for about 3 hours or more. Slice and serve.

IMG_9683

IMG_9684

IMG_9689

 

2 thoughts on “Key Lime Squares

  1. superfitbabe says:

    I love key lime! My favorite is from Cafe Gratitude XD I totally thought of that when I saw these gorgeous squares! This recipe looks incredible!

    Like

Leave a Reply

